Pre Mission Feelings

Hey everyone!

As you all know I’ll be leaving for two years to go to Vitoria, Brazil, so I thought I’d share some pre-mission thoughts and feelings to kinda get this blog started.

First and foremost, I’m excited to go to Brazil and be able to learn Portuguese. I’m excited to be able to spend time abroad and grow as I spread the gospel of Jesus Christ.

For those of you who don’t know what missionaries do, I’ll give you a summary. In short, members of the church go out for two years to a location decided by the inspired leaders of the church. They assign you to a place that the Lord has determined you will be best suited for and that you will be able to influence people in the way they individually need.

Once you are assigned to a mission, you go to an MTC (or Missionary Training Center). Basically what you do here is not only learn the language of the country you’ll be staying in, but also learning how to teach people in that language. It is anticipated that I will stay in the Provo, MTC for about 9 weeks, although hopefully I’ll get to go to the MTC in Sao Paulo after a few weeks and spend the remaining time in that MTC.

After your time in the MTC, I will report to Vitoria itself to begin my mission. What I will be doing is spreading the gospel of Jesus Christ with the people of Brazil. Basically, we will be following the examples of Christ’s apostles in the New Testament. I will be teaching everyone who I can find, whether that be through places I go, or knocking on doors and teaching people.

I want everyone to know that I know that the gospel of Jesus Christ as it was taught by the Savior himself has been restored to the Earth and that I will be able to share that message with those in Brazil.

I also want to thank every one of my friends who have all helped me through high school and helped me become the person I have always hoped to be. Thanks to all the support you guys have given me and I will miss you all.

Adeus a todos! Ve-lo em dois anos!

Elder Finch

About elderfinch

I will be serving in the Brazil, Vitoria Mission from August 31st 2011 to August 2013. I will be first reporting to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah while waiting for my visa to clear.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

