Relocated to Rochester, New York!

Hey everyone!
So, this week was a really good one!

We taught more practice lessons and they were all really good. Wednesday through the rest of the week was amazing though! On Wednesday we ended up demonstrating how to teach in front of the new missionaries. I was really nervous because I was going to have to teach in front of like 50 people and wanted to make sure I would be able to demonstrate right.

We did this experience twice, and each lesson was fantastic! We practiced the principle of listening closely to people and being
able to take the experiences and the stories of the people and using the Spirit to apply it to their lives and it was really a wonderful experience. By far the biggest highlight of the MTC!

So, Thursday was also a big day. Since I don’t have a visa yet, I got a temporary reassignment to go to Rochester, New York! Originally my companion was going to come with me, but then his plans got cancelled because they think he’s going to get his visa really soon.

I’m so excited though to go to Rochester! I’ll be able to go to Palmyra and the Sacred Grove, where the prophet Joseph Smith saw God and His son Jesus Christ, which I’m really super excited about! I’m probably going to freeze to death, but I know that the Lord will bless me with the means to stay warm enough that I can actually preach the gospel without being frozen.

Friday we had In-field orientation, where we had a lot of workshops on how to be a better teacher and how to improve your teaching. It was really a cool experience! We watch this movie called the District (a reality film of what it’s really like to be a missionary and teach the gospel) all the time in the MTC, which made it cooler because 3 of the people from the movie were our teachers! Anyways, it was way cool!

Well, nothing else really happened other than those 3 days. It was just a really good experience over all and the week went really really fast! I’ll be leaving for New York on Monday the 31st, so anyone sending letters or packages of any kind should stay tuned until I get the address I’ll be using (since I have no idea what it is yet!)

Anyways, hope to hear from everyone!

Elder Finch

About elderfinch

I will be serving in the Brazil, Vitoria Mission from August 31st 2011 to August 2013. I will be first reporting to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah while waiting for my visa to clear.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

