November 14th

Hey everyone!

This week has been awesome also! I’ll kinda do a summary of each day.

Tuesday was a fun day. We taught a man named Hector, who is a really fun person. He has heard all the lessons pretty much, but is having a problem getting a ride to church, so we’re working with him to see how we can help. We also went to Buffalo Wild Wings today because they have like 40 cent wings. My white shirt ended up getting dominated with the sauce, but everything came out so no harm done haha. We also went around the neighborhoods to find people to teach. We taught 3 lessons to people and passed out a Book of Mormon to someone who was interested.

Wednesday was important because I finally got my electronic visa! I’m expected to go to Brazil around December 9th. It was bitter-sweet though because I already love the people here in Rochester and my companions up here. I don’t want to leave! But at the same time, I’m excited to go to Brazil (especially since it’s getting colder up here). I also got to meet Jamie, who is one of my new favorite people. Our last commitment to here was to read 1 Nephi chapter 4, which she did and was able to almost perfectly recite every detail of the story. She is really fantastic and has a date for baptism on the 9th of December. We read President Uchtdorf’s talk, “You matter to Him.” She was in tears by the end of the lesson and really enjoyed the message of it. It was a great day. We also had dinner with Mark’s parents, Dick and Gloria. They’re really warming up to us and love talking with us. Hopefully we’ll be able to teach them soon!

Thursday we had exchanges with Elder Cox, one of our zone leaders, who is really fun to be around. We talked with Bob again and taught Mark that evening, where Mark really opened up to us and expressed some of his concerns. Now we know what we can do to help him! I’m really excited with how fast Mark is progressing!

Friday was interesting. The day time was kinda lame because we weren’t able to find people to teach, but in the evening I went with the ASL elder’s to teach Debbie, an excommunicated member of the church. We taught at her friend Allen’s house. Allen was totally stone drunk during the lesson, and, as such, made it really difficult to teach about anything. He was in his late 60s, and thought that because he was so well educated, that he knew all about our message. It was a very entertaining lesson. Some of his ideas were ones I agree with, but most were very abstract and had no real base to go off.

Saturday was also interesting because we had nothing really solid planned, but we ended up getting to do service for a family and had two dinner appointments when none were scheduled. It was kinda cool how everything worked out!

Sunday was really cool also! So, I took a vitamin pill that morning, but because I did it without food, I ended up throwing up and having to miss church. Luckily, the rest of the day made up for it because we got to take Mark to the Sacred Grove! It was one of the coolest experiences ever! I mean, how many other people can say they talked about the First Vision and the restoration of the gospel of Jesus Christ in the actual grove of trees where that took place? Just this mission? Yeah, that’s what I thought! It was really awesome and Mark absolutely loved it!

So that’s my week! Hope to hear from everyone!

Elder Finch

About elderfinch

I will be serving in the Brazil, Vitoria Mission from August 31st 2011 to August 2013. I will be first reporting to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah while waiting for my visa to clear.

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

