November 29th, 2011

Hey everyone!!! This week was absolutely fantastic!!!

Nothing new really happened until Wednesday this week because it was my birthday!!! WOO! It was a fantastic day and thank you for all the birthday wishes! We started out by blowing up over 50 balloons and throwing them all over the apartment (yes I know, we’re that awesome!) I made myself a fantastic breakfast and we went to Chili’s for lunch. Chili’s was fantastic as usual, and I got a free Molten cake dessert, which was way good! I made a cake that my mom sent me the mix for, which was also really good (though we still haven’t finished it due to the huge amounts of leftovers from Thanksgiving).

Also on my birthday was one of the coolest stories of my mission so far! The night before I prayed and asked Heavenly Father if he would send us a miracle for my birthday. That day we went out knocking and knocked on a nicer looking house. No one responded, but I felt I needed to knock again, so I did. A lady opened the door, but was shy because she didn’t speak hardly any English. Luckily, we all spoke Spanish (my companions better than I) so she let us in the house. Ok, first off, for anyone who knows anything about knocking doors, you know right away that getting in the door is a miracle in itself. We taught her and her son a lesson and answered a lot of their questions. To finish the story, they are now our newest investigators and are wanting to learn more about the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Ok, so this experience just about rocked my socks off because this was a direct answer to my prayer, along with the prayers of my companions that they had been offering for weeks that we’d find someone to teach. I am so excited now. It was a huge testimony building experience and I am ever so grateful that I was able to be part of it. It taught me to expect miracles while I am out serving the Lord in His work.

Also on my birthday, was another “first” experience, and I guess it was also a testimony builder also. We were coming down the elevator after attempting to meet someone on our visiting list and at the bottom of the elevator was a man waiting for us. I felt really odd around him at first, but we started talking to him. I was curious as to how he knew so much about the Book of Mormon and the other standard works of the church. It was evident really fast that this was someone who was very against our church and someone whose sole purpose was to tear us down as missionaries. We talked with him for a bit about the difference between getting saved by grace alone and about the idea of being saved after all you can do. He started quoting a whole bunch of scriptures supporting the grace alone idea, but missed the rest of the scriptures in the Bible also supporting the idea of works being necessary to be saved. We cut the conversation off and left.

It was also a testimony builder because there are plenty of other religions that do not believe too much different from us, and yet he only picks on us. It makes me realize that Satan is trying really hard to tear down this work, starting with the missionaries themselves, as they are the ones who are pushing the work forward. So, that was my birthday experience!

Thanksgiving was also fantastic! We had two back to back dinner appointments, both of which were absolutely fantastic! I also made my mom’s famous trifle dessert, which made me feel a little less home-sick. President Christianson allowed us to just take the day to relax prior, so it was a much needed mini-vacation full of a whole bunch of food!

Friday was also great because we actually had a second Thanksgiving pretty much. We worked for the beginning of the day, and went to Greece (a city nearby, not the country đŸ˜¦ ) for a second Thanksgiving. They deep-fried the turkey, which made the turkey absolutely fantastic! All of the food was delicious!

Well, nothing really happened on Saturday. We did a service project in the morning, but nothing else really to report.

Yesterday (Sunday) was fantastic though! We went to church as usual. Then we taught Susan a lesson again. She is reading the Book of Mormon and realizes it’s an inspired book. We assigned her to read the Savior’s ministry from 3 Nephi chapters 11-30. She said she would. We also taught Jenny (the lady whose house we got into on my birthday). We pretty much just answered questions but she is a wonderful lady. We then taught Domingo again, who seemed like he really needed our visit that day. We then went to dinner at the Stake President’s house. It was overall a great day!

Well, that’s my week! It was a great week to be a missionary!!!

Elder Finch

About elderfinch

I will be serving in the Brazil, Vitoria Mission from August 31st 2011 to August 2013. I will be first reporting to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah while waiting for my visa to clear.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

